Monday’s musts, and more art…

I’ve gotten so wrapped up in keeping my kids busy, that I’ve unfortunately let the things I need to do go by the wayside. I have decided that it’s time to make Mommy a schedule chart, too! I can tell you now, it won’t be nearly as pretty as the kids’. Perhaps it should be – theoretically, if I spend as much time making/doing nice things for myself as I do on the kids, it would have a more positive impact on the way I approach my own life.

However, the fact remains that I have too much to do, and I just can’t afford the time to make a pretty chart for me. I will make do with a pretty house. Which, in turn, will elicit a pretty smile from my honey. So, it’s all good, I tell you.

Today, I sat down to work with J.J. on a collage of the “All About Me” variety. Since she only has two letters in her name, I set her to work sorting through old magazines and catalogues, finding those letters and cutting them out. She tackled this with relish.

Cutting Cutting, too

I also had her browse for pictures that would “tell someone who doesn’t know you just what kind of person you are.” This part was a little more challenging. She was continually distracted by lavish furniture setups and bedroom decor that she wanted to cut out “to remember,” so we could save up money to buy it one day. It got a little out of hand, and now I need to find a shoebox to fill with these special treasures.

It was interesting to watch her glue the pictures onto the paper. She really has an eye for detail. She put tiny little drops of glue in each corner, and a small line in the middle for the bigger picture. Barely made a mess at all!

pasting pasting, too

And in the end, well, we couldn’t see half of her pictures because she covered them all up with a giant scene from Wizard of Oz, but there’s some poetry in that… pretty dresses < following the Yellow Brick Road to see the Wonderful Wizard, right? Or I guess the road, in this case, leads to some sort of sport utility vehicle, what do I know. But just look how happy she is with the picture. That's all that really matters – she did the whole thing by herself!

final product

Finally, being that it is Monday, I should probably come up with some goals for myself this week. Things I need to bear in mind: Tuesday afternoon, I’m observing at another preschool; Thursday eves are crazy; Friday, I won’t be home at all between 1:30 and 9:30pm; Saturday, I’ll be out of the house from 9-4. Busy week!

– Schedule chart for mom
– Pay some bills and things
– Start packing. Seriously, START PACKING. Where to start? Probably our room. It needs it most.
– Wage battle with the laundry beast yet again.
– Take things we don’t want to Social Services League. GET THEM OUT OF THE HOUSE!

I think that’s a pretty solid start, don’t you?

-Juana Bee

About Juana Bee

I'm raising two beautiful and brilliant kiddos who inspire me everyday, with my life partner who likewise challenges and inspires me.
This entry was posted in Crafty, Educatin the Chilluns and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Monday’s musts, and more art…

  1. Mandi says:

    How funny, I bought the stuff to make myself a chart this week too! I used velcro circles so I can change the order of stuff everyday based on my busy life! My “to dos” are removable!

    • Juana Bee says:

      Oh, I love it. I know that I will need to do something like that soon. As it is now, I kept mine somewhat vague and open to interpretation… which I will surely give myself difficulties with!

Leave a Reply

