Snow Day!

Well, I have mixed feelings about this. Snow days are nice breaks from the routine – until the whining sets in. I’m on a mission to combat this today.

This is what it looks like, outside:
Snow 1 Snow 2

The temperatures aren’t terrible. I’m inclined – rationally, anyway – to take the kids out to play, frolic, and gambol in the white stuff. But physically, my inclination is to stay in my pj’s with my too-sweet coffee and tons of blankets and watch movies.

We’ve been lounging all day. B.R.’s been trying to master Mario Kart.
Mario Kart!

J.J.’s been charging me for the “tea” she’s serving.
Tea party

And big brother tormented little sister with his exceptional Tic-Tac-Toe prowess.
tic-tac-toe

I’ve mostly left the kids to their own devices all morning, but it’s becoming clearer and clearer that I need to provide them with something structured. So, like it or not, I’ll take them outside. It’s a start. I’ve also got my eye on a floor puzzle and/or game we haven’t done together yet. What I really need, though, is a project. We’ve been doing projects for the last few days, and I’m all out of ideas!

There’s still a good 8 hours left in the day, going outside, reading, and puzzles and games will only take up so much time. I really need to get my creative gears going, here….

-Juana Bee

About Juana Bee

I'm raising two beautiful and brilliant kiddos who inspire me everyday, with my life partner who likewise challenges and inspires me.
This entry was posted in Educatin the Chilluns, Mothering and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Snow Day!

  1. Mandi says:

    did you see that link I posted yesterday from Disney? If you happen to own a printer and some cardstock it will provide hours of entertainment, I promise. It is how I am getting my kids through the snow day.

  2. Juana Bee says:

    Printer’s not hooked up and necessary components are in boxes throughout the house 😦 I thought about it though!

Leave a Reply

