A Move Towards Efficiency?

Well, goals for the week are on their way to being accomplished!

Yesterday, I posted about the conversation B.R. and I had about schedules and such. Among my weekly goals, I included the task of making schedule charts and implementing them for both kids. We sat down at the table yesterday afternoon, J.J. and I, and we churned these babies out:

 

B.R.'s Chart J.J.'s Chart

 

While I doggedly assembled these charts, which, ironically, were the reason I was late to work yesterday, J.J. studiously worked on a “calendar,” tracing the numbers 1-31. She insisted she needed a calendar so she could “cross the days off as they go by.” I’m not sure what she’s counting down for, but the whole thing stunk of educational opportunity, so of course, I indulged!

Both kids have been completely fascinated by their charts, but B.R. is absolutely enamored with his. I had to pull him away from it (literally – I physically pulled him away) at bedtime last night. He’d been begging me to read him The Littles by John Peterson, but he couldn’t stop himself from interrupting periodically to discuss that chart! After we were done reading, he didn’t want to reflect on Tom’s experience dressing up in a mouse costume, he wanted to go check the chart “one last time.”

Even so, both my alarm and the kid’s failed this morning, and he didn’t think to check the chart until after I’d rushed the kiddos into their shoes and coats. We’re in a mad hurry to get to school, and he wants to check the chart – to see what his sister is supposed to be doing.

It’ll be interesting to see what happens when I get the bedtime and morning routine charts done. He’ll spend his whole day in front of charts, I’m sure.

Ah, kids….

-Juana Bee

About Juana Bee

I'm raising two beautiful and brilliant kiddos who inspire me everyday, with my life partner who likewise challenges and inspires me.
This entry was posted in Crafty, Mothering and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Move Towards Efficiency?

  1. Mandi says:

    I love them! I want some now, I am thinking about making some, but our days fluctuate so much from day to day that mine might need the assistance of velcro tabs and a miracle! Great idea!

Leave a Reply

