Last night’s leftovers are for the dogs.

Well, things are finally starting to come together! We rearranged a couple of pieces of furniture, threw out the kids’ old falling-down table and chairs, unearthed some milk crates to use for some of our books… It’s not much, but it’s amazing what a difference it makes! Now J.J. has room for her dance parties, and my lady and I actually want to sit on the couch instead of hiding in our room. I don’t mind the though of people dropping by unexpectedly!

That’s not to say we’re done – we’re not. We still have a few corners to declutter, and then we have to tackle the bedrooms. I actually think I’m afraid of our room. We let it go for far too long. But I’m inspired by the progress we’ve made so far!

The kids came home from their dad’s yesterday, and immediately ran to their job wheels and wanted to get started. I must say, that made quite an impression! They are both very passionate about their jobs, and about helping each other out. I try to stay out of the way as much as possible and watch the whole thing unfold in front of me. But it seems as though it’s helping their relationship with one another, and they’re experessing signs of such odd traits as consideration for one another. It’s fascinating.

There is one puzzle that I have not even begun to solve. I’d like to. You see, I hate cleaning out my fridge once a week (or more). I wouldn’t mind it, if there wasn’t so much to throw away. But I’m throwing away so much. I hate being wasteful. It used to be, I’d make enough food to freeze and store for later, and I’d avoid creating waste that way. But now, I don’t cook from scratch as much as I’d like to, and it seems we have so little freezer space. When we do have leftovers, they go straight in the fridge because someone (could be anyone) promises to eat them the next day, and then the food ends up sitting there for the week and rotting. It’s gross.

We don’t eat leftovers. Even when I get creative with them (which, admittedly doesn’t feel very creative anymore; I just turn them into frittatas or sandwiches, usually), it’s hard to get anyone to eat them. Unless it’s leftover pizza or mac & cheese.

I hate this. I hate hauling out the grossness to the compactor across the parking lot, and I hate seeing how wasteful we are, knowing someone else could use that food, if only we’d shared it before it went bad. And I hate seeing all the processed crap in the fridge that I never wanted my kids to have in the first place, but I compromised because of my schedule.

But the key thing here is leftovers. What do you do with your leftovers when no one will eat them?

I will puzzle this one out. This is my focus for the week – food in the fridge!

Juana Bee

About Juana Bee

I'm raising two beautiful and brilliant kiddos who inspire me everyday, with my life partner who likewise challenges and inspires me.
This entry was posted in Domesticity, Foodista, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Last night’s leftovers are for the dogs.

  1. Mandi says:

    I plan the leftovers into my menu plan before I ever even buy the groceries. For instance, we had chicken breasts with baked potatoes and a vegetable. The next night my menu plan will show that I am going to cut up the left over chicken breasts and make a pizza or a chicken and pasta or something like that out of it. If we have pot roast, the next night my menu will show I am going to make burritos. When I make too much of something (say a soup) and it is obvious we could never eat that much, I call someone right away and say “hey, would you like some soup for dinner tonight?” so that it doesn’t go to waste. If I make something that can’t be used as leftovers I try to make a small amount with sides to compensate, or I use it as lunch the next day. The only options I keep in our house for lunch are leftovers or a sandwich. People are usually be glad when there are leftovers.

    • Juana Bee says:

      Brilliant! I often shop with the consideration of what to do with the extra ingredients for a meal I’ve planned … eg, if I have too many green onions or if I’m not cooking all of the meat in a package. But I’ve never thought about planning for the leftovers themselves. That seems like it would make the budget stretch even further, too.

      Oh my goodness. No more Leftover Frittatas —> Leftover Frittata Sandwiches! The kids will be thrilled!

Leave a Reply

