The wheel with the jobs goes round and round…

The kids really like their new job wheels! J.J. just couldn’t have enough jobs to put on hers – I had to cut her off at eight things. She’s only turning 4 next week, seriously! B.R. was more interested in re-writing his list of chores while I put his wheel together than actually working on the wheel. Whatever, man – the kid’s missed school all week, let him get a little handwriting practice in!

I declared yesterday a practice day and let them give their wheels a spin. They each get 4 tasks that they are responsible for. for the duration of a week. If they do all four things for all four days they’re with me, they get $2 in allowance each. For every job they don’t do, they lose $.10 – unless, of course, they don’t do their jobs at all, in which case they get nothing.

I wrestled with this. I believe children should be raised with housework as a fact of life; helping around the house is something you do because you care about your family and the place in which you live. To me, paying for housework undermines that principle. Except that the has been little else to motivate them, and I need more help than just caring for the animals. Yes, folks, my kids are still excited to feed and water all our animals, and my six year old begs me to let him walk the dog. I don’t, just because the dog is a Rottie-Shephard and way stronger than he could handle, and heaven help the poor child if there’s a rabbit loose. So I’m going to give this a try, and encourage them to help more just because it makes us all feel better about our home and ourselves.

After I drop the kids off at their dad’s, I’m going to run some errands, and I’ll be thinking about what project to tackle next. So many things to do!

-Juana Bee

About Juana Bee

I'm raising two beautiful and brilliant kiddos who inspire me everyday, with my life partner who likewise challenges and inspires me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The wheel with the jobs goes round and round…

  1. Mandi says:

    I would love to see what the job wheels look like!

    • Juana Bee says:

      Honestly, Mandi, they look like crap! I made a circle and divided it up into parts, but didn’t think to measure the parts out to be divided evenly – or even think how many parts would divide evenly into how many sections, so they’re lopsided pies. Then the top part of them, I hacked at with very dull children’s scissors (through card stock) to find that it would be better if I just cut wedges out from the outside in to the center. Nene’s looks like a bastardized radioactive symbol, though I forgot to factor in that, if you cut *all* the way to the center the whole darn thing will just fall apart, so one of the “arms” is a bit floppy. Danny’s looks a little better, although a bit uneven, and one of my dinosaurs that I drew on there looks a little creepy.

      I’ll take pictures and share. It’s quite silly, really. But the kids love them, and they function – this is what matters, no?

Leave a Reply

