Harder than expected

How frustrating! I’ve not made any progress since my last post – except that the kitchen still looks halfway decent. The living room has suffered attacks from children and dog and the laundry is piled up because the dryer won’t stop eating my quarters.

My parents are talking about coming up to visit the first week of November and as far as I know, the Missus’ mom is still coming up next month.

I feel like screaming.

I have a litany of excuses. I worked extra hours every day but Friday last week. Wednesday evening I went out of town. The dog is still very much a puppy and creates mess just by breathing. The kids are the same way. I look at the house and all the energy just drains out of me.

But I know that the only way to get that energy back is to clean it up, make it look nice. We got a nice settlement check from a car wreck my lady love was in five months ago. We plan to use some of it to get shelving so we can put our books and knick-knacks away once and for all.

We have plans.

Wednesday, we’re going to tackle the house together.

But I don’t want to wait til Wednesday. I want a magical cleaning fairy to come and make the mess disappear NOW.

Obviously, that’s not going to happen. I need a plan. I used to have a book called House Magic: The Good Witch’s Guide to Bringing Grace to Your Space. It was my bible for when things got this bad. Everything from basic day-to-day upkeep to organization to feng shui. I could flip it open to a random page and find something useful. Somewhere along the way, it went missing. Maybe I should get myself a new copy.

Actually, I just did. I found a copy on Amazon for $.01 when I linked to it here. Can’t beat that.

In the meantime, I think I’m just going to have to go in search of inspiration. I need a way to keep the momentum going. Well, first, I need to find the momentum to get started.

I really want to do this, not just for myself, but for my kids and my wife. My kids… they need to grow up in a house where it’s clear that all things are respected. My wife needs the peace of mind that comes with a well-energized, clean house.

About Juana Bee

I'm raising two beautiful and brilliant kiddos who inspire me everyday, with my life partner who likewise challenges and inspires me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

