Happy Autumnal Equinox!

Happy first day of Autumn! The air is crisp as the leaves that will soon be falling, and I’m snuggled in my favorite hoodie, given to me by my lovely lover the day we celebrated our first anniversary. At a Pearl Jam concert, no less.

Love is definitely in the air today. I’m actually sitting at my computer mostly because I can’t figure out how to put MP3’s on my phone (I’m technologically challenged, oddly enough) or find my lady’s iPod, and I’m desperately feeling the need to listen to very corny ’80’s love songs. I mean bad corny – Bryan Adams, Richard Marx – it’s terrible. I can’t take a chance on playing it out loud and having the wifey hear it. She’d never let me live it down.

What does all this have to do with cleaning? Well, a big part of the reason that I’ve undertaken this project is to help my kids learn to care about their surroundings; it’s also for my peace of mind. But mostly, I’ll be honest, mostly it’s for her. It’s a visible way for me to show her that I value her, her space, her well-being. I’ve not been the best housekeeper, and while she’d never demand that I be June Cleaver (she does jokingly call me the anti-June sometimes, though), and I know how much she appreciates order and tidiness. And she knows how hard it is for me to keep that. In my mind, if I can make it a part of my regular life, an automatic function like blinking and breathing, that is the biggest, most long-lasting gift I can give her.

So this 24 hour period isn’t quite over, but the clothes got taken care of, as did the pile of papers (just from yesterday only). Last night, I didn’t do the dishes like I normally would have because my youngest was having a hard time going to bed and I was exhausted by the time she finally settled down at 10:15. I can forgive myself for that. I’ll try again today! Same list – I’ll keep at it till I get ‘er done!

About Juana Bee

I'm raising two beautiful and brilliant kiddos who inspire me everyday, with my life partner who likewise challenges and inspires me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

