Ok, here we go.

I’m mulling over how to begin as I choke down this very interesting pizza the Missus brought home last night.  It’s good, but I think I may have nuked it too long….

At any rate, it’s no matter because I did not come here to write a love story about a pizza.  No.  I came here to organize my first to-do list.

I must keep it simple, for two reasons.  One, I’m starting from the beginning.  Two, the next 24 hours are jam-packed with busy-ness.

I am taking my inspiration from this site: Zen Habits post “Develop clean-house habits one at a time”.

I know *how* to clean a house. I’m damn good at it when I want to be. Ask my mom, or anyone else who’s hired me to be their housekeeper. It’s something about *my* house that just sucks all the motivation out of me. So when I found this list of guidelines, I found it oddly soothing and slightly motivational:

But here’s the key: I’ve found that it’s best to use small steps in getting where you want to go.

Try these habits for at least two weeks each before going onto the next:

* hang your clothes up or put them in hamper immediately
* put all papers (including school papers, post-in notes, bills, etc) in one in basket, and process at the end of each day
* keep you sink clean and shiny (wash dishes immediately, clean sink after)
* pick up before you go to bed and before you leave the house
* empty your trash daily
* 15 minutes decluttering sessions each day
* clean your shower, toilet and bathroom sink after each use (only takes a couple minutes!)
* have a place for everything, and put everything in its place immediately
* make your bed each morning
* keep flat surfaces (counters, tables, desks) clear of clutter
* put away your stuff as soon as you get home

Now, these are a lot of habits, and it might seem overwhelming, but if you tackle one at a time (in whatever order you like), it won’t be that hard. Give yourself several months to get there – don’t expect overnight change!

Here’s how to tackle each habit:

1. Write down your goal.
2. Post it up somewhere visible.
3. Keep a log and make sure you write in it each day, noting whether you were successful or not for that day.
4. Post your daily results on your blog or on an online forum, or email to family and friends.
5. Reward yourself for each day of success.
6. Give yourself electric shocks if you fail that day (just kidding!).
7. Actually, if you fail that day, take a minute to see what went wrong, and how to correct it. Now forgive yourself for failing, and tell yourself that you will do better starting now!
8. Find a way to keep yourself focused on this goal for at least 2-3 weeks.
9. Celebrate when you’re done.

I will start with the first six items. Let’s see how well it goes.

The next 24-hours’ to-do list:
1. hang clothes up or put them in hamper immediately
2. put all papers (including school papers, post-in notes, bills, etc) in one basket,
and process at the end of each day
3. keep you sink clean and shiny (wash dishes immediately, clean sink after)
4. pick up before you go to bed and before you leave the house
5. empty your trash daily
6. 15 minutes decluttering sessions each day

About Juana Bee

I'm raising two beautiful and brilliant kiddos who inspire me everyday, with my life partner who likewise challenges and inspires me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

